2017 Kelly-Prentiss Scholarship

Deadline: March 24 2017 at 05:00 PM CDT - CLOSED

This program is inactive or past the deadline.


Nearly 40 years ago, Ruth May Prentiss set up the Kelly-Prentiss Scholarship for students who completed their third year of medical school and need financial help to become medical professionals. The fund memorializes Ruth, her husband Delbert, and her parents William T. and Lottie Kelly.

Amount of Scholarship Awards
Awards range from $1,000 to $2,500. The Scholarship Selection Committee may choose to make one award or multiple awards each year.

Selection Process
A Selection Committee named by Unity Foundation of La Porte County will independently review all nominations with the final determination approved by the Unity Foundation Board of Directors. Committee members sign confidentiality agreements, and all information from the applications is kept in the strictest of confidence.

Award Notification Timeline
March 24, 2017 – Applications must be submitted by 5:00 P.M. (CST)
April 14, 2017 – Applicants will be notified of award status.
April 24, 2017 – Scholarship payments will be distributed directly to recipient’s college/university.


The applicant must:
1) be a graduate of a high school serving La Porte County, Indiana
2) be a current or former resident of La Porte County, Indiana
3) be currently in the process of completing the third year of medical education at a medical or osteopathic school, accredited by the Association of American Medical Colleges or the American Osteopathic Association
4) be in good academic standing
5) demonstrate financial need

Awards will be made without regard for age, gender, race, or ethnicity.

Disqualified Applicants
The following people are not eligible for scholarships administered by Unity Foundation of La Porte County: officers, directors, employees and members of a scholarship committee of Unity Foundation and their immediate families.