2017 Jan Nona Environmental Stewardship Award

Deadline: March 31 2017 at 11:59 PM CDT (Midnight) - CLOSED

This program is inactive or past the deadline.


This award was created to honor the spirit, tenacity, and zeal of Jan Nona, an ordinary senior citizen who was inspired to act on behalf of her neighbors. Upon the discovery that the local shallow aquifer, which was the source of drinking water for the Town of Pines, had been poisoned by coal combustion waste (CCW). Ms. Nona worked relentlessly to help her neighbors. She inspired other residents to join her and demanded accountability by local, state and federal officials. The result was voluntary funding by “potentially responsible parties” to provide most homeowners with municipal water from nearby Michigan City.

Award Purpose
The primary purpose of the Jan Nona Environmental Stewardship Award is to honor “students” or “teachers inspiring students” in the Michigan City area, who move beyond being an ordinary citizen and become involved in environmental issues in the community.

Candidates may nominate themselves or be nominated by educators, colleagues, family, or members of the community.

Amount of Award
Unity Foundation will grant one $500 award on behalf of the nominee that most exemplifies the characteristics listed above AND who is most likely to continue in their work to help their neighbors and their environments for living creatures. The award will be paid to the recipient or college or university on behalf of the recipient or to a recognized charity of the recipient’s choice.

Selection Process
A Selection Committee named by Unity Foundation of La Porte County will independently review all nominations with the final determination approved by the Unity Foundation Board of Directors. Committee members sign confidentiality agreements, and all information from the applications is kept in the strictest of confidence.

Award Notification Timeline
March 31, 2017 – Nominations must be submitted by 11:59 PM.
June 6, 2017 – Nominators and recipients will be notified of award status.
July 17, 2017 – Award payments will be distributed.


The nominee must:
1) be a resident of La Porte County or Porter County
2) demonstrate success in moving beyond ordinary citizenship to activism in the area of environmental protection
3) demonstrate the traits of Jan Nona in her fight to provide safe drinking water to the people of the Town of Pines

Preference will be given to those who attend or teach at high schools or post-secondary schools in the Michigan City area including, Michigan City High School, Marquette Catholic High School, Purdue University Northwest, Valparaiso University, Ivy Tech, or other such schools serving the residents of Michigan City or the Town of Pines.

Awards will be made without regard for age, gender, race, or ethnicity.

Disqualified Applicants
The following people are not eligible for scholarships administered by Unity Foundation of La Porte County: officers, directors, employees and members of a scholarship committee of Unity Foundation and their immediate families.