2017 J. Robert & Marjorie Miller Teacher Advancement Award

Deadline: June 09 2017 at 11:59 PM CDT (Midnight) - CLOSED

This program is inactive or past the deadline.


The J. Robert & Marjorie Miller Teacher Advancement Fund was established to promote teacher excellence through professional enrichment, renewal, and revitalization leading to more engaged teaching and more engaged students within the La Porte Community School Corporation.

How Can the Grants be Used?
The grants are intended to be utilized for advanced education opportunities not normally provided by the La Porte Community School Corporation. This includes programs that would help teachers excel in their occupation. Examples might include summer programs, projects, internships, site visits, learning new skills or improving on existing ones.

Amount of Award
Awards range from $500 to $1,000. The Award Selection Committee may choose to make one award or multiple awards each year.

Payments will be made directly to the programs or schools the recipients will attend. Other expenses will be paid directly to vendors, as well. Recipients may negotiate with Unity Foundation if other payment arrangements are needed.

How Will Recipients Be Chosen?
An award selection committee will recommend the recipient, with the final determination made by Unity Foundation of La Porte County’s Board of Directors. Committee members sign confidentiality agreements, and all information from the applications is kept in the strictest of confidence.


This grant opportunity is open to individuals that meet the following criteria:
1) Licensed school teachers employed by the La Porte Community School Corporation (guidance counselors, library media specialists and others may also be considered);
2) Applicants that have endorsement letters from their school principals.

Project Report
Recipients must file a report with Unity Foundation by December 29, 2017 outlining the results of the program/project. Recipients may also be invited to make a presentation at a La Porte Community School Corporation Board Meeting.