2018 Diane Kay Bamberth Memorial Award Nomination

Deadline: March 31 2018 at 11:59 PM CDT (Midnight)


Diane Kay Bamberth was an inspiration to everyone around her. She was a devoted wife, mother and friend. She was dedicated to community service and local events until the final days of her life. Diane passed away on May 18, 1998 after a long battle with cancer. In loving memory, the Diane Kay Bamberth Memorial Fund was established. This nomination award will be granted to a young person who exemplifies humility, tenacity, and strength of character during adversity.

Candidates should be nominated by educators, clergy, family or other members of the community. Nominees will be contacted by Unity Foundation of La Porte County to provide required personal information; however, the candidate will not be made aware of their nominator unless selected to receive an award.

Selection Process
A Selection Committee named by Unity Foundation of La Porte County will independently review all nominations with the final determination approved by the Unity Foundation Board of Directors. Committee members sign confidentiality agreements, and all information from the applications is kept in the strictest of confidence.

Award Notification Timeline
March 31, 2018 - Nominations must be submitted by 11:59 PM.
June 2018 – Nominators and recipients will be notified of award status.
July 2018 – Award payments will be distributed directly to recipient’s college/university.


The nominee must:
1) be a graduating senior of La Porte High School
2) be pursuing a four-year undergraduate degree from an accredited, tax-exempt college or university
3) be enrolled as a full-time student
4) demonstrate the courage and character of Diane Kay Bamberth (through community service, leadership, humility, courage, tenacity, and having exhibited strength during adversity, and a strong moral fiber.)

Awards will be made without regard for:
1) gender, race or nationality
2) financial need
3) grade point average or class ranking

Disqualified Applicants
The following people are not eligible for scholarships administered by Unity Foundation of La Porte County: officers, directors, employees and members of a scholarship committee of Unity Foundation and their immediate families.