Skip to Content

This program is inactive or has passed its deadline.

2013-14 APA Edwin B. Newman Graduate Research Award

Deadline: February 03, 2014 at 11:30 PM HST - CLOSED


To award the best overall research

Award winners will receive travel expenses to attend the APA
Annual Convention to receive the award, a three-year subscription to an
APA journal of the winner’s choice, publication of their abstract in the Eye on Psi Chi, and two engraved plaques (one for the winner and one for the winner’s psychology department).

The submitter of a research paper must:
• Need not be a Psi Chi member.
• be a graduate student at the time the research was
carried out and submitted for publication and/or
• be the primary and first author, and
• have published and/or presented the paper at a
national, regional, or state psychology convention
between January 1 and December 31
of the previous calendar year.
The winner is not eligible to receive the Bandura
Award and the APA Edwin B. Newman Graduate
Research Award in the same year.


1. Proposals must be an electronic document written in English conforming strictly to the instructions in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA).
2. Participants should adhere to the APA Ethical Principles and Code of Conduct in their research and their presentations. See APA’s Publication Manual for suggestions on reducing language bias.
3. The text of the submission should be in 12-point font (double-spaced).
4. Poor spelling and grammar will penalize otherwise sound submissions. Faculty sponsors are encouraged to review submissions prior to entry.

All proposals must be masked within the title page and the body of the proposal. The manuscript should include a separate title page with authors' names and affiliations, and these should not appear anywhere else on the manuscript. Footnotes that identify the authors should be on a separate page. Your Psi Chi member ID number will serve as a unique identifier for your submission.

Number of Awards
Award Amount
Total Amount Awarded